128 x 128 screen

For the 90’s Arduboy project Im using a 128 x 128 Color TFT screen and well it needs a modified library for it to actually work now im not trying to make all the games 128x128 and in color im just trying to get a normal arduboy game to work on it so any help would be great since personally I have little to none experience with coding besides messing around in unreal engine using C++ and the only I did that worked was making the player able to walk up a wall

1 Like

If your display uses an ST7735 driver chip you could have a look at Adafruits ST7735 library

How usable it will be will depend on what your hardware setup is. For pushing out 128x128 12-bit color pixels @ 60 FPS over SPI you’d probably need some 48-60MHz MCU You’d probably end up with something that is similar to a PyBadge

1 Like

I’ll test it out. maybe if I’m bored one day i’ll experiment and see if making a Arduboy 128x128 with color can work but as of right now Ill just play Social Distancing The Game on 128x128 screen

1 Like

@Mr.Blinky provides some great advice …

Why did you ask for help if you are not interested in the answer?

whoops
New

Old

1 Like

2 Likes

The TFT_eSPI library is about 10 times faster then Adafruits ST7735

2 Likes

I finally got the screen but how do I connect it to the Arduboy

1 Like

Connect what? What screen did you get, what controller does it use, what pinout does it have, what communication protocol is it set to use (I2C and SPI being common ones), which version of arduboy are you using (homemade or official)?

As mentioned here, there are some good things to do when you ask for help that helps people help you.

1 Like

The screen is a ST7735, I don’t know what controller it has, the pinsimage
I’m not sure I just took it out of the box a 20 minutes ago so I’m not sure and it’s a official Arduboy

1 Like

From the first Google results for ST7735:

The ST7735 is a single-chip controller/driver for 262K-color, graphic type TFT-LCD.