ArdBitmap: Bitmap library & tools

Hi all,
I finally unified all my custom “draw-bitmap functions” in a library, also I improved the image compressor with Sketch autogeneration from images or animated gifs.

Library features:

• Works with compressed & uncompressed bitmaps.
  • Real-time image resize (downscale).
  • Horizontal/Vertical mirroring (fast).
  • Bitmap alignment.

Bitmap compressor:

• Compatible with PC/MAC/Linux (made with Java).
  • Good compression (better than Cabi).
  • Supports PNG, GIF (also animated gifs) & JPG.
  • Autogenerate Sketchs from images or animated gifs (great for no-developers).

GitHub:

Sample video:

Notes:

• This is my first time working with Github, I have to learn a lot about how to use it correctly. :sweat:
  • Please, contact me if you need help to integrate the lib with your demo/game or to use the bitmap compressor.
  • I tried to include bitmap rotation, but performance is not good for unresized images. Anyway, 180º image rotation is supported by double mirroring (MIRROR_HOR_VER).
  • Now, it’s time to work on the voice library, I hope it’s ready before Christmas. :wink:
7 Likes

Very interesting. Compression + mirroring could really help reduce sketch size a lot!

I’m wondering what draw method do you support? Is it always white sprite with transparent (like drawSelfMasked in Arudboy2)? Or can you have white/black sprite with transperent (like drawPlusMask in Arduboy2) ?

1 Like

Fantastic work! With this library, we can really see some great things being developed in 2017!

I’m going to take a look at it over the next few days and see if I can come up with something weird. :smiley:

1 Like

@igvina,