ARDU ROAD, a Enduro remake for Arduboy

Hi everyone, when i initially got the Arduboy i wanted to work on an Atari 2600 game that i just loved called Enduro, i don’t know if anybody knows that game but it’s basically a racing game where you have to pass as much cars as possible in the fastest time. You have a limited time each day to pass a certain amount of cars and there was a day to night cycle, even weather changes like snow. So there was day time, night time with a limited view and you only see the backlights of the cars instead of the complete cars, in the snow the handling becomes harder.

There was even a ‘cruise-control’ feature that you can set the speed to a level and let go of the gas to set it to that speed, keeping it like that until you press the brakes.

So far i only worked on what could be the graphic parts of it. Like most people here, time is not something i have a lot of, and i am not a programmer but i wanted to try my hand at it somehow. For now, if someone wants to team up with me for taking over the coding part you are more then welcome. If not i am sure i will find time to learn and do it myself for next year. :wink:

WIP Title Screen
Enduro_Remake_Title%20Screen

Music Selection Screen
ARDU%20ROAD_Radio

Day Time
Enduro_Remake_screen1

Dawn
Enduro_Remake_screen2

Night Time
Enduro_Remake_screen3

Main Car animation
ARDU_ROAD_CAR_ANIMATION

Graphic assets download : HERE
Contrat Creative Commons
Ce(tte) création est mise à disposition selon les termes de la Licence Creative Commons Paternité - Pas d’Utilisation Commerciale - Partage des Conditions Initiales à l’Identique 4.0 International.

12 Likes

Looks good.

Have you designed graphics for the cars at various distances? The standard Arduboy libraries do not have image scaling and even if they did, they wouldn’t be as nice as these graphics. If you sort the graphics out, I am sure someone will jump in to help with the development.

1 Like

Ardbitmap does.