Arduboy 2 My Ultimate Hardware Wishlist

(Matt Palmer) #1

Disclaimer, I’m a NOOB about arduino, programming, and hardware/software design. Also, most of these additions would add price, weight and or size. So maybe this is more of a anti-Arduboy, or Arduboy Super lol. Anyway, just for fun here’s my ultimate hardware wishlist for “Arduboy 2”.

1. bluetooth
  2. wifi
  3. gps
  4. camera
  5. micro sd card reader
  6. infra red
  7. bios
  8. waterproof
  9. color screen
  10. accelerometer

Upgrades for Arduboy
What's the difference between the Arduboy and the Arduboy DevKit?
My Wish list for arduboy
[Poll] New Arduboy: B&W or Color Screen?
(Mike) #2

Well, this sounds more like a full size smartphone :slight_smile:

(Matt Palmer) #3

Lol. But open source and micro sized!

I agree, It more sounds like you want a phone. You’re not going to get all that in the size of an arduboy.

My wishes for the 2nd model,

1. Arm Cortex M4 or M7 Chipsets https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ARM_Cortex-M, These things are built to be small but powerful. You find them used a lot in embeded devices. I use to use M3 at work for IMU processing.
  2. Color Screen (but around the same size).
  3. Micro SD port we can more or less use like a cartridge slot. Use the Flash on the M4/M7 chip as bootloader and OS and then have the app binary pulled from the SD card.

I love the idea of waterproof, I wanna take mine swimming! (Just kidding, but I did take my dev kit on a boat and it survived :P)

My biggest wish is for the thing to be flexible and credit card sized! The business card idea is just way too classy to not be a thing. Although, if nothing ever changed and the price DID get down to $10 per unit one day, that would be pretty awesome in another way!