Arduboy for a total beginner

(Ben) #1

First of all I’ll say hello since this is my first post! I don’t want to bore with my life story, but I’m from the UK and have just taken advantage of the black Friday deal on Arduboy.com!

I’m an electrical engineer (unfortunately moved into management) and I’ve also always loved to build unusual and sometimes dangerous devices at home in my free time. I’ve tinkered with Arduino in the past, but I didn’t really latch on until recently when I purchased a huge Elegoo Arduino kit.

I’ve built a few things and I’m getting to grips with just identifying what the code does and modifying it for fun. I certainly don’t come from any kind of a coding background, but can work my way around a PC fine.

So I guess my question is have any of you been in a similar situation (being a total beginner) when you got your Arduboy, and made a game yourself since?

I’ve seen the wealth of resources on here and I look forward to using them soon!

(Boti Kis) #2

First of all welcome to our community!

We had a lot of beginners on different levels and I’m pretty confident that everyone is willing to help. :slight_smile:
The best way start is our quickstart guide.

And now some questions for you:
Do you have any experience in coding?
If so do you have experience with C++?

Next, there is no recipe for making games. Find ideas, sketch them and think about how it is possible to realize them with the limits of the hardware. :slight_smile:

(Ben) #3

Thank you!

In response to your questions, no and…no :sweat_smile: I’m definitely going to put some time aside and go through all the fantastic looking resources on here. I like to think I have a logical mind, and I solve technical problems of all kinds for a living. I’m hoping that will give me enough to get started and not get totally lost!