Arduboy not recognised by PC [Solved]

Hello, I’m new here, and I’m very desperate for help. My arduboy came in the mail today, and works fantastic with the game it came preinstalled with. However, when I tried to install new games, my computer and the arduino software won’t recognize my device. It will charge, but nothing else. First thing I did was immediately report here to the forum and see if anyone else had this issue, which many have, and I took the advice that all the posts said. To try a new cord. Well, I’ve tried about 5, and nothing has worked. So I started thinking maybe it’s my computer. But then I went through and tried all of the cords with my cellphone, and my computer immediately recognizes that a new device has been plugged in, eliminating both the cords and the computer being the issue. I’m a complete noob here and would appreciate any help whatsoever. Thanks

Does the yellow led light up at the bottom of the Arduboy when you plug it in with the power on? You should hear a USB-Connected sound from windows when you plug it in.

Are you familiar enough with windows to open the device manager and see if it shows up under usb devices?

The yellow light doesn’t come on, no usb connected noise, and won’t show up in device manager either

Hmm, sorry to hear this! Can you write us at arduboy.com/contact and we can try to assist you directly from there. Thanks for letting us know!

Do any lights light up at all when you plugin in?
Mainly the red charge indicator.

I ask because I’ve found I have one that I use less with a slightly tight port that needs an extra little push to make a proper connection.

The red light does indeed come on

OK are you turning the Arduboy on when connecting?

Sure am, I make sure it’s powered on every time I’ve plugged it in

1 Like

I’m assuming you’re using a Windows based PC. Check if you’ve got an unknown or other device with a yellow exclamation mark in device menagement.

Check device manager