Arduboy on PlatformIO [Stable Again]

(Boti Kis) #1

I’m totally new to Arduino development but i’ve noticed immediately that ppl prefer to use Atom with platformIO as IDE since it has CLANG support with that code completion and other nice things.

Sadly i was not able to run arduboy projects.
First i don’t know how to link the arduboy libs to it and second i don’t know if it’s enough to set the target to Arduino Leonardo.

Any help with this?

(Ross) #2

Have you tried @noopkat’s loader?

It uses Electron ( http://electron.atom.io/ ), and that is part of the Atom project.

(Boti Kis) #3

That’s just an UI to upload the software to arduboy as far i get it.
I look for a way to code in atom for arduboy.

(Ross) #4

So we have the hexloader, next we can look for a way to build the source into that hex file.

Have a look at this repository for a Makefile that will compile source for the Leonardo Arduino bootloader. https://github.com/sudar/Arduino-Makefile.

Could I ask what OS you use?

(Boti Kis) #5

Ph nice, i’ll take a look in that. I’m on OS X.

(Scott) #6

Something that may help:

The Arduino IDE has the ability to make it easier to use an external editor (such as Atom). Select this by using the Arduino IDE menus:
File > Preferences
In the Settings tab select the Use external editor checkbox and then click on the OK box at the bottom right.

With Use external editor selected, you will still be able to load sketches into the IDE, in the normal way, but the code will be grayed out and you won’t be able to edit it. From the IDE menus you can select:
Sketch > Show Sketch Folder (or press Ctrl+K)
to open the folder containing that sketch’s files.

You can edit these files with the editor of your choice. (With Ubuntu Linux’s Unity interface I can just right click on a file in the sketch’s folder and choose Open With > …)