Arduboy port is not detected

Got my Arduboy (yay!) but no ports are detected. I have a Windows 7. My Arduboy charges, and the red light is on, but the yellow light doesn’t if it is supposed to. The port isn’t detected so I can’t download games or anything of the sort. This includes ‘Step 4’ of Codebenders getting started, not being able to detect the port. Any ideas on what might help? (I’ve tried turning it on/off, switching ports, and a few other things). I am relatively new to coding, so any help is appreciated.

This sounds about like the cable needs replacing. Or the unit just needs turning on when it’s plugged in. We highly recommend you buy a new data micro-usb cable for your Arduboy. Do this of course after trying every cable you have around your hourse :wink: Sorry about this, but it seems to be a pretty common thing for older cables to just not work with the Arduino setup.

If you would like to order one, check out this unit.
3ft USB 2.0 A Male to Micro 5pin Male 28/24AWG Cable w/ Ferrite Core (Gold Plated)

###Similar Issues

http://community.arduboy.com/t/arduboy-not-recognized-by-anything/1388/9?u=ekem

http://community.arduboy.com/t/arduboy-couldnt-be-recognized-by-win10/1163/5?u=ekem

1 Like

Thanks for this - I was using a fairly new cable that came with a pair of wireless headphones. Lights lit up so I initially ruled out the cable as the problem. Switching cables got the device detected in Win 10 and things went smoothly from there. Cheers.

2 Likes

So I recently bought a new cable and when I plug in the Arduboy the yellow light will come on for a second then go out and wont come back on or allow me to download. Do I need to get another cable if so what should I get? or is it an issue with the Arduboy’s port?

The LED light behavior you describe sounds normal. Are you on Windows? Did you hear the USB connected sound when you plug it in?