Arduboy zine? help for noobs please

Noob here. I would very much like to be able to program my own games, animations, chiptunes, noise toys, visuals, etc. using Arduboy, but I have zero experience with writing code.

Soon I will get my PocketC.H.I.P., another popular Kickstarter project that I’m sure some of you have heard about. What’s really cool about PocketC.H.I.P. is that it now comes with Pico-8 preinstalled. Pico-8 is another platform for programming games, etc., only it uses Lua.

What I like about Pico-8 is that it seems inviting to me… It seems like a good place to start learning. Part of what makes it so approachable is this online fanzine that I found:

So far, there are 4 issues. The zines consist of short articles regarding coding for Pico-8… in the first zine they walk you through step by step on how to start making a “Breakout”, or “Pong” type of game! I feel like I could do this.

So I got to thinking that the Arduboy community could really benefit from something like this. Especially now because there will be a flood of newcomers who are interested in learning to code for this thing and not know the first place to begin! (Like me!)

Sure, I have heard the advice about looking at people’s code, and learning C, (?)and that’s all great advice… but for me, I feel like I need something a little more structured and specific. What I am suggesting is a dedicated page (or zine or whatever) dedicated to learning to code for the Arduboy. Tutorials, tips and tricks, lessons, etc. All in one place. Perhaps I am lazy, but I find it a bit cumbersome digging around forum threads for info…

Maybe such a thing exists already and I missed it? Or planned for the future, perhaps? I think it would really help people like me, and serve to grow the community greatly.

Thoughts?

(Scott) #2