Calling all teachers!

(Celine) #1

I’ve reached out to some amazing community members who have used the Arduboy in their classrooms, and if anyone else is interested to do so, this is the best place to ask questions and share information! :smile: :apple:

Hi ! As a french art teacher, I use Arduboy with my students to create drawings in pixels and learning code at a beginner level. These are some pictures of the sprites we made. The arrow, the rabbit head and the boy are included in a code that shows a character to the screen, and we can move it in four directions with the D-pad. The running cat and the growing tree are animations in loops that just appear on the screen without interaction. The rabbit head and the tree were made by a teenage girl, the boy were made by her brother and I made the arrow and the running cat. The cat were made from pictures of Muybridge. I can send the ino files to people interested.

(Celine) #3

Yes I would like to see the source code! Maybe you can create a new post in the “Education” category and call it educational demo? :slight_smile:

(Simon) #4

These animations look interesting … what age are the students you are working with?

Those ones are 12 and 14. But I could work with students from 6 to 60. It is private tuition, so I go to my student’s home and I teach to one, two or three persons in the same time. Most of my lessons are with traditional art stuff (paper, pencils, paint,…) but I use Arduboy to do pixel art, animation, simple video game and coding. I am not a proffessional programmer so I teach the very basis in coding.

(Simon) #6

Oh that’s great … I am guessing kids would respond positively to the Arduboy and would not even consider it learning when they play with these. I am currently writing a 4 (?) part series for the Arduboy Magazine that pulls apart and rebuilds my Pipes game. It could easily form the basis of some educational package.

(Pharap) #7