Coding a game in Arduino IDE on a Chromebook

I read that you use Codebender on a Chromebook and I’m pretty sure you can use Audrino IDE on Codebender, but I think I read something on this community about the Arduboy libraries being outdated on Codebender or something like that. (I’m still a noob) but then I watched Kevin’s video on his YouTube and the Codebender owner or some high ranking like that loves the Arduboy. (Congrats :smile:) and I believe he said he will make the Arduboy and Codebender compatible. So does this mean a Chromebook can make Arduboy games? Sorry if this was scattered.

The Codebender setup actually won’t quite work right now for Arduino 1.6. Their online compiler is too old of a version, if I’m not mistaken, to work correctly with the new library. They are working on getting it updated, but the issue for it has been open for quite a while. I wouldn’t expect it to be updated to 1.6 in the next week.

But, we are looking at solutions that may work as well or better so codebender may not be an issue.

In the mean time, you can use the Arduino IDE just fine on a chromebook.

You can install software on Chromebooks now? What did I miss.

I believe it was a plugin, but I wish you could install software on Chromebooks. :pensive:

1 Like

I already use ChromeOS to prototype games in javascript, then port them to Arduboy. It’s how I made the Puzzle Pack. I’m working on another game in ChromeOS right now.

I made a mock Arduboy library with all the same function names, but I saw a much better made one someone else did that you could use, I don’t remember where though.

2 Likes

@Atomic So what program do you use to port them and put the JavaScript on?

http://community.arduboy.com/t/arduboy-javascript-simulator/87