Coding in ASM - What kind of 8 bit instruction set?

(Damian Caynes) #1

A friend and I are 8 bit coders, I have experience with 6510 on the c64 and he also has z80 experience. We’d like to tackle coding the Arduboy in asm, but I was just wondering, what kind of 8 bit instruction set does it have?

(Damian Caynes) #2

Ok I did some googling, apparently the Arduboy uses an AVR RISC, which I have no experience with.

But I did find the instruction set manual - http://www.atmel.com/Images/doc0856.pdf

Welcome New Developers! A Listing of Development Links and Articles

Here is the datasheet on the chip as well.
http://www.atmel.com/Images/Atmel-7766-8-bit-AVR-ATmega16U4-32U4_Datasheet.pdf

I’m curious to see how this will turn out. I will eventually want to convert some functions in the future to assembly for tighter control.

(Damian Caynes) #4

At a quick glance it looks fairly familiar and has quite a few handy extra opcodes compared to 6502, I know my mate is going to get really into this because he’s a really hardcore hacker type, who also loves making classic 8 bit games :slight_smile:

We’ll be putting together an ASM library of common routines we use when making games for the Arduboy.

Cool. If you guys build out any fast routines for memory transfers let us know. It’s the area I’m the most interested since I’m looking to build a easy & fast to use tile map system.

(Damian Caynes) #6

For sure that’ll be one of our first experiments.

(Josh Goebel) #7