Complete newbie looking for help with a goal

Hi there!

My name is Erynn, and i’m rather new to coding as a whole. I have some experience in python through fiddling with RenPy to make visual novels, but nothing extensive. I’m in the middle of running through the arduboy tutorials when i’m writing this, and i’m not having much difficulty understanding, but i have a very specific goal of something i want to make for my arduboy and i was hoping i could get some pointers on where to go for information on the libraries and tutorials needed to do so.

see, i i love virtual pets, or v-pets, especially those made by bandai and ESPECIALLY digimon ones! i’ve been collecting v-pets for over half my life and its not much of a surprise that they’re getting more expensive. seriously, look “digivice” up on ebay and you’ll see what i have to deal with. on top of that, a lot of digimon i really like (like the one eyed cutie in my avatar) aren’t actually available in any official v-pets. so i figured one day i’d just make my own somehow, and got some other digivice collectors fed up with the prices with varying degrees of coding and spriting experience together to work on this idea. an arduboy is way less expensive than a digivice and can be customized! we just need to make a game on it.

but we’re all pretty inexperienced, so i need some help finding out to make the mechanics of the pet and bring them together.

the most important thing to have is a real time clock function. v-pets are idle games, you don’t really play them actively and your pet usually falls asleep at night. the first thing i need above all is built in real time clock (that doesn’t stop when the system turns off, ideally) and an animated character on screen that will fall asleep at a certain time. any pointers on where to find how to program any of this stuff would be great.