[Concept and WIP] Undertale Pocket Battles

I’ve had an arduboy for a while now, and i’ve always wanted to see if I could somehow make some form of undertale work on here. There was some project on here called Undertale maker, but it seems to be dead. I’m not trying to make the full game, but instead just make it play a few battles. I only have a title screen so far, because I have never done something like this before. Since I don’t have the whole “game” part of the program, I made a concept drawing showing how the game would work with the paltry screen size available.

New%20Piskel%20copy%204

It’s quite simple, but that’s why I chose to make undertale on the arduboy. I’ll upload more concept art while I try to make this a real game!

Let me know how you like it and maybe give me some feedback, as this is all new to me.

3 Likes

Here’s an image of the title screen

I couldn’t put it in my post alongside the concept drawing because I was a new user.

1 Like

I like the idea a lot.

Could possibly make it more like a Undertale Boss Rush Mode type of thing.

Since the battles are basically minigames, I think the idea is brilliant. Could have like a small basic map with roads leading to the next Boss battle between fight. Could make it so that you get XP that you can spend to lvl up some stats like HP and Speed?
.Anyway I think this has potential, but I would probably just scrap the name and call it something else… Or not…

The battle makes me think a little like if you are getting inside the boss to beat it…

So something with a theme more like hacking comes to mind. What if instead of under tale theme you make it so that you have to hack into a robot or a computer and the fight in the battle box is showing virus protection getting after you in some way and your have to dodge them to get to the core or something?

Each time you get to the core the Boss loses hp and you rinse and repeat?

Each boss would have it’s own special twist on the basic battle mechanism?