Culture of Engineering

I was told to talk to a engineer (supposedly a few) about “the culture of their profession”.
I was told to ask them about their experience in a engineering school – what was fun, what was difficult. And I was told to figure out whether the experience will be different for different people (e.g. women, people of different backgrounds)

I’ll start. I was currently studying in RPI. I am a undergraduate. Sophomore, persuing in Electrical Engineering. I dislike the weird math courses I am required to take. I find Computer Components and Operations a very interesting class as we walk through the idea of CMOS and combinational logic gates, and we use those knowledge to solve some tangible problems (i.e. implementing a 16-to-4 encoder using NAND)

Alternatively, if you are a non-professional, where do you get your sophisticated understanding of, say, microcontrollers and Arduboy? What work do you do and what are your interactions with experts in the field? and why do you claim expertise on the issue?

I learned basic circuit theory when I was young, batteries with lightbulbs and such. Other than that I knew how to read one-line schematics from automotive and then later I got a job as a wind turbine mechanic.

I still didn’t understand most of it when I got curious and bought an Arduino and just started plugging things in. Honestly, at every stage of the process I expected to unlock magic blue smoke but always very curious to see how stuff would often just work.

It wasn’t until I actually started designing Arduboy as a product did I have to learn any kind of electrical engineering, even then it was entirely focused on building circuits rather than any real theory. To me it remained some kind of legos.

It was only until I had to design the battery protection circuit did I really start to begin to understand the electrical engineering side of it, but even then I am very beginner.