[Discuss] Education and Entertainment cannot coexist

Educational games are pure evil, but if is well made people do not feel like learning. Like with @Pharap’s game.

The problem is that most educational games are designed by people who don’t like or get games and they think is a stupid thing so they only do it because they are getting paid.

4 Likes

As a teacher i have to admit that most educational games are boring or just don’t feel like „games“.

3 Likes

I used to think so too… then I got a job making educational games and I found out why they turn out the way they do. People in education who think games are just “a stupid thing,” are a tiny minority. The majority of those involved really do care about the games and their players.

Sorry about the long, off-topic post ahead, but I think some would consider the information interesting.

TL;DR: it’s complicated.

At first, games and education look like a really good fit: All games are inherently educational. FPS games teach spatial awareness, map interpretation, train response time, peripheral vision, precise motor movement, etc. Apparently, when a school decides to make use of the educational power of games, something goes wrong.

Unlike other games, edugames aren’t played. “Play” is voluntary, people choose to play based on what they find fun/challenging (more on this in Raph Koster’s “A Theory of Fun For Game Design”). This might look like it’s not a big deal (Kids like games, right? Why wouldn’t they want to play them?!) but it has consequences, for both student and game designer, that ultimately make educational games not feel like games at all.