Display for homemade Arduboy

Hello BATESKE, i have seen your schematic and it is amazing. I am too making my own diy arduboy. I am kinda of new to this community, so i need some help. I am using arduino leonardo for this project, 6 push buttons, buzzer and a SPI OLED of 280 x 280 pixels with ST7789 driver and it doesn’t have CS pin except of it, it has BLK pin. I have tested everything and everthing works on their simple test codes. But when I make arduboy with it the screen just stays black, when i press buttons, buzzer make tunes. I guess the problem is with driver as it is different from SH and SSD drivers. I will be really happy if you could help me :slight_smile:

Hello Mr. Blinky, I am new to this arduboy community and i want to make my own arduboy. I am using your homemade arduboy package which helps me a lot. But still i am facing one problem,
i am using arduino leonardo, 6 push buttons , buzzer and a spi oled lcd which has 240 x 240 pixels and uses ST7789 driver. My all stuff works as i have tested everything. But when i do the setup of arduboy and upload ardubreakout code the screen stays blank. I guess it’s because in your homemade arduboy package we dont have that driver(ST7789) we only have SH and SSD drivers. I tried with SH but it still didn’t work. I will be extremely thankful to you if you could help me, PLEASE!

You might want to alert @bateske and @Mr.Blinky by butting an @ before their name.

2 Likes

You don’t get a picture because the ST7789 display controller is quite different from the ones supported by the Homemade package.

There’s no support for color displays because they require a lot of MCU power resulting in unacceptable slowdowns.

@Mr.Blinky, I am glad that you replied to my query, and i have also understood what you are trying to tell me. So can you suggest me a display which should i buy for my homemade arduboy ?? Also tell me which communication(SPI or I2C) and driver it should use ??