DIY Arduboy V2

Hi everyone. I think my ArduBreadBoy was a success. However, I still feel like some things are missing - important things - and I hope to include them with the next iteration of the ArduBreadBoy. This time I want to make it on some perfboard while trying to maintain the same size. Roughly about 7cm by 9 cm. I want to include a volume wheel this time, a power switch and a power system. I have some LiPo batterys (3.7 V) but I don’t know what board to get. The Adafruit micro lipo seems good but should I get the one with the usb port or not? Because…I don’t want to buy another house :laughing:. I’m still new to power switchs and volume wheels so how would I wire all of that up?
Thanks -Dillyn

I also saw some that have multiple layers of perfboard to fir more stuff so if I could pull off something like that it could be really convenient.

So does anyone know how to wire up the volume wheel and power switch? And micro lipo with usb (adafruit) to the board?

Would a 1200 mah battery be overkill?

A real Arduboy will draw around 20mA to 50mA from its nominal 3.6V LiPo battery, depending on the number of pixels lit on the display and whether the RGB LED or speaker is in use. Assuming your circuit has a similar draw and your 1200mAh battery is 3.7V, at worst case 50mA it would provide power for 24 hours from a full charge.

2 Likes

How long would a 900 mah battery last for games that have tons of code like Ardynia and Catacombs of the damned? With features like the led and speaker. How do I find the right Li-Po charger and find the voltage of the whole DIY Arduboy?

Tons of code doesn’t affect battery life. As I said, it’s the number of pixels lit on the display (black objects on a white background will draw a lot more than white objects on a black background), plus whether RGB LED is being used (how bright and how often), plus whether the speaker is being used (how often).