Emulator for teaching

I have only just got my Arduboy, however I can see fantastic oppertunities to use this within a classroom environment. we currently use the microbit in the classroom and the children use the emulator to test their code. is it possible to do this with the arduboy ?

1 Like

I’ve not looked at any to know how useful they are but here’s a couple of links

1 Like

Thanks the proton looks great but i think a little tricky to set up for 10/11 year olds

A further google brings this simulator
http://www.andrewlowndes.co.uk/blog/graphics/arduboyjs-_-arduboy-in-javascript

1 Like

That looks ace! much more like what i was looking for easy to set up

i have never used javascript before so i will have to investigate … is there a converter between coding languages ?

I’m pretty sure most of the ‘emulators’* are outdated or not fully functional. They’re usable but they aren’t exact analogues so I’m pretty sure the code would have to be changed slightly for the actual devices.

(*: None of the emulators are actual emulators in the technical sense because they simulate the environment and not the hardware.)

(Sidenote: I wish they’d taught us programming in primary school, I’d be a lot more advanced than I am now. The closest we got was the lame pixie ‘robot’ and a basic overview of excel formulas.)

for educators, and for children insterested it would be useful to have an emulaor like [quote=“Keyboard_Camper, post:4, topic:3631, full:true”]
A further google brings this simulator
http://www.andrewlowndes.co.uk/blog/graphics/arduboyjs-_-arduboy-in-javascript
[/quote]

except running in arduboy code so they can test it on the emulator and then if it works ok try it out on the arduboy! this would protect the hardware untill the code is in a state to be uploaded.

Children pick this up so quickly