First Application: Code Review Request

Hi All,

I am a C# developer by nature and Arduino/C++ development is new to me. Lots of programming fundamentals seem to carry over like any language, but would like to become more polished.

Any tidbits or knowledge you might be able to transfer would be appreciated. :slight_smile: I am avidly reading the docs and community to improve myself, but it’s always fun talking with people and getting a code review.

Note: Still working on my development pipeline for making applications on Arduboy. It was mentioned I should have the folder be the same name as the .ino file. If I have a large application I would do this practice so uploading the code is easier with the Arduino IDE.

First Application Code - Updated URL
Bounces text like a screen saver around the screen
Up: Increases Speed
Down:Decreases Speed
A Button: Resets Speed
B Button: Pauses

It was so satisfying getting that stupid text to bounce around the screen.

PS: Anyone using PlatformIO in vs code? Super slick, but still working out making the Serial Monitor to work after uploading code. Seem to say the COM is busy.

Thanks,

– Lincoln

void setup() {
  randomSeed(analogRead(0));

The Arduboy2 library has the initRandomSeed() function to generate a random seed. Using it would make your code more portable to other architectures that use a port of the Arduboy2 library.

void setup() {
  arduboy.initRandomSeed();

If you want people who use the Arduino IDE to be able to compile and work with your code, you should have your main code in a .ino file instead of .cpp

@MLXXXp I just updated the code to reflect your recommendation. Good point about the .cpp file to .ino. Forgot that was even a thing after setting up in PlatformIO. Thanks!

1 Like