First game/frogger clone

so I found out about arduboy less then a week ago I’m still waiting for the parts to build one so I thought id try programing for it well I wait. this is my first time programing anything really and the game was made in only two days

https://drive.google.com/file/d/144AklOm3MHFm3o7qsZAqkzhtCR3ehUCQ/view?usp=sharing

4 Likes

if that download doesn’t work try this one

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yi5DT1kuX6nZpiOxdYQuJCxjarRqejdr/view?usp=sharing

1 Like

Great, looking forward to trying it out! Good for you man, you’re diving right in! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks! Can’t wait to get some feed back on it!

Besides building one, you need to get one real :stuck_out_tongue: it is too cute to not order

1 Like

If I buy one it’ll be as a gift so I’ll have someone to help me prototype. As for cuteness I totally agree but I have access to a 3d printer and an idea that might just be able to rival the officials cuteness

If you haven’t got one yet, I’d recommend getting a Github account so you can host your code on Github.

2 Likes

That’s probably a good idea. Thanks for the advice

1 Like

We consider saying that an heresy here newbie, and it can get you banned. Same as saying the name of the forbidden falling blocks game.

just kidding xD waiting to see your design

2 Likes

Great start and nice work for your fist game …

Can I suggest the following:

if(arduboy.pressed(UP_BUTTON) == true and upbuffer == 0 ) {
  upbuffer = 1;
     playery = playery - 16;
}

if(arduboy.notPressed(UP_BUTTON) == true ) {
    upbuffer = 0;
}

It appears from this code that you only want the player to move up the first time you detect the up button being pressed. If so, you could have done this:

void loop() {
  if(!arduboy.nextFrame())  { return; }
  arduboy.clear();
  arduboy.pollButtons();

if (arduboy.justPressed(UP_BUTTON) == true) {
  playery = playery - 16;
}

Also, this can be simply reduced to …

if (arduboy.justPressed(UP_BUTTON)) {