First Homemade Arduboy - buzzer not working

Hi Everyone,

I decided I wanted to make my own Arduboy. I am relatively experienced with arduinos but this is my first time making an Arduboy. I did hardware test and it worked a while and I was at least able to play Breakout from the example sketches. However, once I started trying to load other games my screen stopped working. (SH1106) Then I got it working again with a portable install of Arduino IDE with a fresh copy of Mr.Blinky’s Library. But now the sound does not work with the Hardware test. Not sure what is going on here. I wired this up with the Pro Micro Alternate wiring. Been testing nonstop with my multimeter and for some reason there is no voltage going across 5 and 6.

However, when I load up the example Playtunes and ArduboyTonesTest the sound works.

Here is picture of the breadboard.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me

Ch4p

2 Likes

Sounds more like an issue with the Hardware test sketch. If the sound is working on arduboyTones and playTunes, you don’t need to change any wiring. I’ve made a few DIY arduboys using pro micro alternate wiring, yours looks good!

Could you drop the Hardware test code you’re using here? I can’t be sure what’s causing the issue without seeing it, but it’s certainly somewhere in there.

1 Like

HardwareTest.zip (3.5 KB)
This is basically the hardware test sketch from Mr.Blinky and these are the Board and Bootloader settings I used:
Settings

I wonder if your buzzer is an active one instead of a passive one.

1. With speaker icon 1 on a short tone is played on pin 5 and pin 6 is high (connected to VCC)

2. With speaker icon 2 on a short tone is played on pin 6 and pin 5 is low (connected to GND)

3. with both speaker icons on a tone is played on both pins but with alternating voltages.