FTA, A trade quest - Game Jam 3

About
A space trading game about managing resources

I wanted to add more modes but due to a certain error which seems to have fixed itself once i started ignoring it I dont have any idea how that works, honestly most of my time was eaten up.

Feedback appreciated as this is my first time using C in anything other than simple programs

Controls:
A: Select
B: Go back
Up: Inventory
Left: Select one left
Right: Select one right
Down: Toggle between selling/buying items

Link:

The game itself

Link to game included with a zip, you might need certain libraries, mainly Arduboy2 to run

Some of the art
Diamond
Alien2
Alien1
TravelMenu
Alien3

3 Likes

The name an homage to FTL, right? I’m looking forward to trying this out tomorrow. (Make sure to add a screen shot or two when you get a chance.)

I’ve just bricked two Arduboys in a row trying to upload this sketch.

Has anyone else had any problems uploading this sketch?

@Gball19 do you have a working version of this on your Arduboy? If yes, can you bring it to tonight’s class? I’m not going to try uploading to another Arduboy until I hear back from you or from others. Thanks

Actually, this was totally my fault. I had previously flashed a game to a DevKit, and then forgot to change “Board: Arduboy DevKit” back to “Board: Arduboy” when I started uploading your game.

That was a pretty quick way to take a down a couple of Arduboys. Any tips out there for this particular situation? @bateske

1 Like

What OS are you on? Does the Arduboy show up in the IDE when you plug it in and turn it on?

Good news! I did get them back. I’ll write out what the symptoms were below. (It would be nice to create universal flow chart for bringing Arduboys back up.)

• Flashlight mode did not work.

• When I plugged them into a power source the red charging light did come on.