Help for a total noob?

I’ve been looking through the forums for something to get me started with coding for Arduboy. I’ve completed the 7 part “Make Your Own Arduboy Game” from Crait and it was really cool. I’ve been looking through the Arduboy Magazine issues as well. I’m not sure where to go from here, i can somewhat read the language thanks to the courses from Crait, but I don’t understand enough to do anything really besides mildly edit the Pong game that was created in lesson 7. Are there some C++ courses or a list of commands specific for Arduboy detailing what they do and how to use them? I’ve looked through the Arduboy and Arduboy2 library README files and those didn’t really help. I could scour through source code of some completed games and see how things work, but I’m almost certain from the codes I’ve looked at so far that that’s still a bit over my head. I’m excited to learn how this all work and try my hand at making some games for the Arduboy, but I’m so lost. Any help for an enthusiastic noob with no C++ experience? (I’ve only got very mild Python experience and use the term “experience” loosely here.)

4 Likes

PM sent regarding a ‘yet to be released’ article I have that builds on @crait’s articles.

4 Likes

I’d say that Crait’s ‘make your own game’ series is a great place to start, and the arduino help pages themselves cover a good amount of the ins and outs of both the language and what can be done with the platform.

Is there anything specifically with the game that you have in mind that you have no idea where to start with? Making a complete game can be a complex undertaking and in general it’s much easier to break it down in to its component parts and get those working before bringing it all together.