Help with my first game (platformer)

I’m relatively new to c++ and I’ve been reading through @crait 's amazing tutorials. Though I would like to create a 2d platformer so I started off my code.

#include <Arduboy2.h>
Arduboy2 arduboy;

int playerwidth = 8;
int playerheight = 8;
int playery = 34;
int playerx = 10;

const unsigned char PROGMEM player[] =
{
// width, height,
16, 16,
0xfe, 0x01, 0x3d, 0x25, 0x25, 0x3d, 0x01, 0x01, 0xc1, 0x01, 0x3d, 0x25, 0x25, 0x3d, 0x01, 0xfe, 
0x7f, 0x80, 0x9c, 0xbc, 0xb0, 0xb0, 0xb2, 0xb2, 0xb3, 0xb0, 0xb0, 0xb0, 0xbc, 0x9c, 0x80, 0x7f, 
};

void setup() {
  arduboy.begin();
  arduboy.setFrameRate(75);
  arduboy.clear();

}

void loop() {
  if (!arduboy.nextFrame()) {
    return;
  }
  arduboy.clear();
  arduboy.pollButtons();
  Sprites::drawOverwrite (playerx, playery, player, 0);
  Rect (playerx, playery, playerwidth, playerheight);
  if (arduboy.pressed(RIGHT_BUTTON)) {
    playerx = playerx + 1;
  }
  if (arduboy.pressed(LEFT_BUTTON)) {
    playerx = playerx - 1;
  }
  if (arduboy.justPressed(A_BUTTON)) {
    playery = playery - 20;
  }
  if (arduboy.justReleased(A_BUTTON)) {
    playery = playery + 20;
  }
  arduboy.display();

}

Currently, I’m using an 8x8 tile from @crait 's tutorials for convenience but I plan on changing it later. Now one thing I thought was to make it so that when the A button is pressed, the player y decreases by 20, then when the A button is released, I increase it by 20 again. There is an issue though, you can hold A and the player will stay in the air. Also, when the A button is released, the player snaps back instantly, so is there any way I could make a delay so that it is more like a normal platformer? Thanks. :slightly_smiling_face:

I assume you want the player to jump and then fall to earth after a second or so?

There are a number of ways:

Option 1

With your existing code, you could simply add a counter at the top of the code like so:

#include <Arduboy2.h>
Arduboy2 arduboy;