Is there a Xonix or Qix clone?

I was wondering if there’s a Xonix or Qix clone out there for the Arduboy. I am in the process of making several Homemade Arduboys, and have a few wich don’t have flashcarts, and were ment to be given away for some local children… And while thinking about what kind of games i should upload for them, thought about what simple mobile games enjoyed on the go. Snake, Tetris, are obvoius choices, and I found several versions of them for the Arduboy, but none titled Xonix or Qix…

I don’t think I have seen one for the Arduboy … and it would make a great game. I am thinking that you could have the screen scroll to accomodate larger puzzles to overcome the screen size limitations.

I’m not a coder, but have some really basic knowledge from my youth regarding BASIC, and Pascal… I started to read up on some tutorials online, so I could hopefully make a clone. Found a few projects, and source codes… and am in the process of coming up with my version. I’m trying to keep it simple. Single screen… But with some basic but nice graphics for the score, and backgrounds, wich could be revealed while capturing the playing field. Difficulty wise I’m thinking increasing the speed and number of enemy types, wich would basically be bouncing balls within the uncaptured and captured parts of the field.

3 Likes

I see what you did there :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Give it a go and you will surprise yourself how your knowledge will come back. If you break the code down into functions as much as possible you can always revisit them to add complexity or refine the logic.

There are plenty of people on the site who can answer questions or give advice / tips. It doesn’t matter if version 1.0 is simple as you can always improve it and release updates.

2 Likes

Weird puncuation aside, Pascal is a nice, underrated language.

To start with you might want to just do plain white rectangles and draw the sprites inverted if necessary.