Look what came today

Time to break out the soldering iron!

12 Likes

I guess I’m not very good at soldering :frowning:

Anything obvious? I kind of scorched the lower left corner, which is probably my problem:

It still works fine as an Arduboy, and I have a pre-mod one on order, so its not a big deal, but I’d like to get it working if possible.

1 Like

I got mine too :grin:
I need to teach myself how to solder first, but I look forward to it!

4 Likes

Make sure the flex pcb is as flat against the arduboy pcb as possible where the contacts are. You may have to “squiggle” the iron tip around a bit to ensure the solder connects to the test pads on the arduboy pcb (this was a common problem when installing gamecube modchips as little air bubbles from trapped air between the boards would sometimes prevent a good solder connection even though everything looked alright from the top).

1 Like

Wow! You are so lucky :joy::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
Congratulations and after modifying please upload the images

@pmwasson. Another problem cause could ibe how you solder. I explain: the solders seems like bubles but they should be like cones like your third solder.

For that, you have to solder like that:

I hope it’s can help you to solve your problem.

3 Likes

Question: Does the Fx chip “Hardware Only” need to be flashed to work? That was my impression. My Fx chip is scheduled to arrive this week.

@pmwasson My guess is that the ground connection is not fully made to the mod chip.

My suggestion would be to give a nice solid press and wiggle to the GND and VCC pads.

Scorching or otherwise overheating the flex PCB shouldn’t matter, you shouldn’t be able to generate enough heat to damage the copper traces, they are plenty thick at 10 mils and have a kneck up to the pad for added strength.