Lost in (procedurally generated) forest. Memory constraints

Hi Guys & Gals!

Disclaimer: please note that I am new to Arduboy and C++ programming therefore my questions and code are on a begginer level.

I am trying to make procedurally generated forest. Things I have:

• Trees sprites
  • Idea to randomly generate one (128 x 64) background: create an array of random x, y positions, draw trees accoridingly to that array
  • Idea to generate more than one background: create many (128 x 64) backgrounds and draw them with shift of 128 px and 64 px.
  • Working pice of code

The problem:

If I would like to have more backgrounds, using abovementioned approach, I would need a larger array to keep x,y positions. I was thiniking of adding second dimenstion to an array, however such array would not fit in the memory. My approach is probably quite bad…any advices would be more than welcomed. Please find below full code:

#include <Arduboy2.h>

Arduboy2 arduboy;
Sprites sprites;

byte frame;

//buffers
byte abuffer;
byte bbuffer;
byte upbuffer = 0;
byte downbuffer = 0;
byte leftbuffer = 0;
byte rightbuffer = 0;

byte moving = 0;
byte mstate = 1;

//cursor variables
int crs_x = 0;
int crs_y = 0;

// Structure for x, y, frame

struct xy_point {
  byte x;
  byte y;
  byte z;
};

// Structure will keep 20 trees, however it seems that to procedurally generate more backgrounds I would need bigger array? (and I do not have memory for that)
xy_point xy_points[20];

const unsigned char PROGMEM trees[] =
{
  // width, height,
  8, 16,
  // FRAME 00
  0x80, 0x80, 0xd0, 0xfe, 0xb0, 0x08, 0x80, 0x00,
  0x08, 0x1d, 0x5d, 0xff, 0x1b, 0x1d, 0x0e, 0x02,
  // FRAME 01
  0x00, 0x80, 0xc0, 0xfe, 0xf0, 0x80, 0x00, 0x00,
  0x0e, 0x1f, 0x1f, 0xff, 0x1f, 0x1f, 0x0e, 0x00,
  // FRAME 02
  0x00, 0xb0, 0xf8, 0xfc, 0xfe, 0x6e, 0x07, 0x00,
  0x03, 0x07, 0x0f, 0xff, 0x0f, 0x07, 0x03, 0x00,
  // FRAME 03
  0x80, 0xd8, 0xb0, 0xfc, 0xff, 0xf2, 0xc0, 0x60,
  0x05, 0x0d, 0x0f, 0xff, 0x0f, 0x07, 0x06, 0x02,
};