Making of My Homemade Arduboy

I have finished making my first homemade arduboy. Without the support from this community, I would never have completed this project. Thank you so much for the support, guys!
Above is the finished work. Can be driven by included battery and USB.
Core Pro Micro
Display SH1106
Battery 240mah
Dimensions 110mm x 60mm x 9mm

7 Likes

Main Board

I started from testing circuit to learn all components I need. At this moment, I had some goals but was not sure if it would be possible.
a. Smaller than iPhone4S.
b. Combenient as general modern mobile phones.
c. Earphone jack.
d. Longer running time.
The smart power management was big issue to me. I got, however, many help and found the way how it can be done. Thank you so much @Mr.Blinky, @eried, @MLXXXp, @uXe, @Pharap, @Hendra, @CDR_Xavier and @Keyboad_Camper!

After finish testing, I started drawing the blueprint.

Main board was made using CNC.

This is the finished main board. Need to solder some jumpers.

Place some components to the main board to see there is any problem. To fit the earphone jack in the thickness of 6mm, I needed to shave it off a little bit. It has 6.20mm height originally.

4 Likes

D-pad

This is the basic design of D-pad.

The white part on the left is the rubber button of D-pad. I got it as a repair part for Playstation4.

3D printed parts was rough so I did some treatment.

This is the finished D-pad. Looks pretty smooth, doesn’t it?

1 Like

Casing

Casing became a bit complex because I needed to enclose everything into a small space. The limitation of 3D printing affect to the complexity as well.

The material of casing wall is ABS. ABS shrinks after printing. First I made with the size of 100% the checked how small it became. From that, I figured out the multiplier was 100.55%.

Cutting the top plate and bottom plate.
I used 0.5t carbon fiber sheet. This choice enabled me to get enough stiffness of the casing even though it was slim enough.