My arduboy is acting odd [solved]

(Nolan) #1

So, I program for the arduboy very casually. I mostly just play games on it and sometimes make code that generates patterns, or something else thats super basic. This time I wanted to try finishing an actual project for the thing. As I’m working on it yesterday it started acting odd. The arduboy would restart roughly every 12 seconds.

In addition, I can’t upload anything else to it.

I’ve tried:

• using different cables
  • Kevin’s restart tutorial
  • uninstalling and reinstalling drivers
  • uninstalling and reinstalling arduino

The code that I have (And what presumibly started all this) manipulates a couple of large arrays of objects.

The issue started when I tried to move a bit of code from the maingame() to its own function, placeunit()

any ideas? Also, let me know if I’m getting terminology wrong, or if there’s something I can do to better with my program. I’m still learning.

[WIP] March - a "tug of war" game
(Stephane C) #2

Is it doing it even when it’s not plugged in?

(Matt) #3

I find when I get in this state, it usually means I’ve written to memory I didn’t mean to, like beyond the end of an array. What happens when you do that just depends on what that memory is being used for. Sometimes nothing major happens, and sometimes the Arduboy crashes.

If you run your app in the emulator, you’ll likely see the emulator crash. If so, it is likely a similar issue.

(Nolan) #4

Vaprirics yea it happens when it’s off the cord

city41 I’ll give the emulator a shot once I get a chance to sit down at my comp again. do you have a link to one?

Thank you guys for the quick response. I had to go to work so I’m not able to give the specific error code, but it says that an error occurred whenever I try to upload new code. Whether its mine or someone else’s.

(Pharap) #5

InB4 it’s a stack overflow… :P

First thing’s first, it’s nothing to do with placeUnit.

(Pharap) #6

Found your problem: