[POLL] How did you start learning programming?

(Celine) #1

The Arduboy was created with the aim to help users start to pick up programming and hardware development…

So this month in junction with the creation of the new Education category, we want to find out a little more about how everyone in the community got started with programming.

There is only one choice for the poll this month, so choose the option that played the biggest role / impact on your learning. :smiley:

Poll closes on the 25th June!

• Arduboy
  • Books
  • Friends / Family
  • Hardware kits (e.g: Arduino)
  • Internet tutorials
  • Online videos
  • School
  • Work
  • Workshops
  • Others (Comment below!)

0 voters

:wink:

Arduboy Magazine Volume 10
Arduino DIY Kit?
Im gonna get my arduboy for my birthday!
(Fernando Jerez) #2

I started programming when i was a kid in the mid 80’s with a BASIC reference manual, a bunch of magazines and a Amstrad CPC 464.
No internet in the 80’s. I remember ‘download’ some programs from a local radio show using a casette recorder. :joy:

SSASE - Arduboy sprite editor
(Mike) #3

I started programming in high school. We’d punch FORTRAN programs on cards using an 029 keypunch. We’d send those to the local Air Force base (this was a school for dependents of US Government employees overseas, so mostly military kids) where they’d run them during slack times and send the results back. We had one run to the base to drop off decks and get the results each week, so turnaround time was a week.

Second year we got a 16-bit minicomputer with a multiuser basic and a half dozen teletype model 33s. No memory protection, so you could crash other peoples programs with PEEK().

After graduation, a friend bough a MITS ALTAIR 8800, and I started on assembler. But he only had a front panel for IO, so I toggled programs in by hand. That actually came in handy later, as booting a PDP-11 required toggling in the boot loader.