Sending SOUND into the USB port?

Hi.

I realize Arduboy is too small to have a proper ‘jack’ port as oudio-out.

Still, some of us would like to use it as an instrument too.
Except of games, that are cool. :wink:

Well, I bought Arduboy recently (but waited for it much longer, heh) and I wonder whether it is possible somehow to send the sound 9in a software way) to the USB port, to be able to record it.

I’m not a coder myself, but I have several friends who might be able to do it when instructed properly.

OK, thx in advance.
Y

You could look at the Pocket Operator Sync Hack it shouldn’t be too hard to find something to make a port inside the arduboy if your not keen on having a cable dangle out.

1 Like

You can send pretty much anything over serial (providing there aren’t any time constraints for doing so).

What sort of thing were you thinking?
Making different Arduboy buttons play sound combinations like an instrument or a more fully featured sound production suite?

Thanks guys, I do appreciate Your suggestions.

Well, sounds effect related with special keys (hehe, like in Kraftwerk :slight_smile: ), is a very good idea for concerts, yes.
(For now I use a micro-synth Korg Monotron for it http://tiny.pl/gl9f7 but change of used devices brings an interesting diversity indeed. Or even adding something new. And good-looking, like Arduboy).

For now, however, I was thinking more about making full songs for Arduboy and be able to record them from it.
the existing software is that far from Protracker or Famitracker that it’s not achievable for me, still - other methods are probably possible to construct - as long as we have the sound on the USB. :slight_smile:
Hence my question.

Might be a bit difficult.
Since the Arduboy doesn’t have many buttons it would either have to be fairly menu-heavy or very simplified.
Timing would also be a bit of an issue.