The basics in 2023

Just got an ArduBoyFX at PRGE a couple weeks ago. It’s fun!

It seems like Arduboy FX has a very long and complex history (and even longer considering arduino), but is there a real technical summary of the device and its capabilities? Something suitable for folks coming in new to the platform? As in, haven’t played at all with arduino.

I’m an Android developer, say what you want us JVM nerds, but I’ve done some pc-assembly and C/C++ back in the day. I’m still trying to wrap my head around things though. I’m slowly building up an understanding but it’s usually just lucky searches or random thoughts. And I mean basics so basic y’all probably can’t imagine folks wondering.

Of course now I can’t think of them all, but I’ll put up those I can recall:

eeprom vs flash vs FX flash (good details in this thread – Which are available to programs?

When a program is “I am at 69% RAM used and 80% flash” what are those values referring to? How do you tell if what you’re developing is starting to hit limits?

I’m surprised how tricky adding new software is. It’s probably simple once you get it, but I was sort of hoping for an online image builder, or mass downloads, or something. So while there are nice collections and nice tools like Arduboy Toolset it doesn’t seem like there’s a comprehensive thing to handhold babies like me. An app store, if you will, that lets you customize everything, downloading new bits as needed.

Is the ArduboyFX Loader open source? Can it be changed?

Thanks,

Trin.

Hey, I see that @Pharap is probably going to reply to most if not all of your post here pretty soon, but I wanted to give my thoughts on specifically Arduboy Toolset. I hope it doesn’t sound like excuses, I’m sorry!