The Crawl - A dungeon crawling platformer

(Andy) #1

The Crawl is a dungeon crawling platformer in which you have to find a path that allows you to discover enough keys to make it to the exit.

Screenshot1 Screenshot2 Screenshot3

It’s my first game for the wonderful Arduboy, so I’d love any feedback people have!

(Simon) #2

Looks great. Did you do the graphics yourself?

Will you be linking to the code as well?

(Andy) #3

Thanks! Yes I did the whole lot myself. It’s not the most impressive of games, but I’m hoping that it has a nice feel to it. I have edited the original post to include a link to the source code.

I should add that I’m not a programmer and the code is dreadful!

(Simon) #4

Yes it does have a nice feel to it and you can always extend it / add features.

(Jean Charles Lebeau) #5

Seems very good :wink: Gratz. It’s your first game on Arduboy … So it’s really a good for us :wink:

(Scott) #6

You could reduce code size, and make the game more “Arduboy compliant”, by switching from using Arduino tone() to using the ArduboyTones library or the Beep classes included in the Arduboy2 library.

(Andy) #7

Thanks for the advice. I have no idea what I’m doing with sound, I just added it right at the last minute.

The whole game is way bigger in code than it needs to be, I got very sloppy.

(Pharap) #8

Do you have a GitHub or GitLab account that you could host the code and .hex on?

(Andy) #9

@Pharap I’ll have to look into that. I don’t know much about GitHub.

(Pharap) #10

It’s a source code/git repository hosting website.

It takes a bit of getting used to because it has some very complex features,
but even if you don’t use the more complex features it’s good for hosting source code and uploading precompiled .hex files as releases.

It also has stuff like issue tracking and ‘pull requests’, which allow other people to suggest improvements/changes (though you can disable that if you want).

Here’s an example of one of my games on GitHub: