Why use switch?

So, maybe this is a bigger discussion, but why use a switch statement at all if you aren’t in some cases passing through? i.e. you don’t actually break at the end of case A for example because you also want it to run the code for case B.

As I understand it those are the situations where using switch statements are “best”?

Why not use if statements?

Is it just a preference thing? From what I understand to the compiler it’s not that much different.

2 Likes

Actually, I didn’t really think too much about that. I’m a web backend developer, and… I try to never use switch statements, because I just don’t like it. I think it’s not the best readable code.

When I code on Arduboy or Arduino, It’s like an experimentation. So, maybe, unconsciously I used it because I won’t use it on my day to day job :smiley:

But if someone has a more objective answer, I’d like to know too !

1 Like

If statements need to be evaluated one by one, where switch will generate a jump table based on an integer value. Case statements only serve as labels and do not define a block, hence the fall-through behaviour.

3 Likes

That’s interesting. I find it much more readable than a bunch of nested ifs.

Exactly. There is a c++ attribute called [[fallthrough]] which lets you mark the end of the case explicitly to show that it is going to fall through to the next case.

switch (state) {

case State::Init:

// do init stuff
    state = State::A;
    [[fallthrough]];

case State::A

performState(); 
    break;

}

The [[fallthrough]] doesn’t really do much other than highlight your intent however it does surpress the compiler warning.

3 Likes

It’s a good thing to have, though, since contrary to @bateske’s assumption, making use of the fall through capabilities is rarely done, and not including a break has likely been done in error.

1 Like

Agreed it is rare to use fall through. However, I have been using fall through lately when creating an overall state machine for games.