[WIP] A simple isometric engine

Hello everyone,
I’m new to the Arduboy community, so after the tutorials I started out with creating a simple isometric graphics engine.

screen%20Isometrik

It’s still pretty barebones and I’m not sure yet what in which direction I want to go with this (puzzle, adventure, tactics RPG). So far, there is rudimentary clipping and simple jumping functionality. Even so, the CPU gets pushed to it’s limits even at 30 fps. I’m sure there are some neat tricks to improve it, so if you know one let me know! You can try it out here:

https://felipemanga.github.io/ProjectABE/?url=https://github.com/DthEgn/ArduboyIsometricEngine/blob/master/Isometrische_Grafik_v3.ino.leonardo.hex

10 Likes

Great work … I can see this being the basis of a great game!

I found recently when working on my own project was that drawPlusMask() was roughly 20% more efficient that drawExternalMask() which, when rendering an entire screen, makes a huge difference.

Another thing, I wonder if you might be better rendering the blocks with the sides already in place - even if the sides are going to be covered by the next tile drawn. Removing the decision and subsequent drawing of tile faces may save time - you never know. One reason I say this is the the drawFastVLine is not really efficient …

void Arduboy2Base::drawFastVLine
  553 (int16_t x, int16_t y, uint8_t h, uint8_t color)
  554 {
  555   int end = y+h;
  556   for (int a = max(0,y); a < min(end,HEIGHT); a++)
  557   {
  558     drawPixel(x,a,color);
  559   }
  560 }

I recently wrote a drawFastVLine equivalent that was 16 - 20 times faster depending on the number of bytes the line spanned.

3 Likes

Looks really good.
But be aware of that the CPU wasn’t really a powerful one (and counting the numbers, I really can’t think of a real 3D game on here)

1 Like

Thank you for your kind words.