[WIP] ArduArt - Pixel Art Creator!

Hi all! I’m glad to see the community is so active. When I bought this a few days ago I thought the community was dying.

I just started programming for the Arduboy and this is my first (released) app! Its got zoom in, zoom out, clear, and I’m working on adding other features. Make sure to leave me feedback so I can improve :smiley:

2 Likes

Very cool … I like the zoom in and out.

A couple of little issues:

• If you continue zooming out, the screen goes white - I am assuming your code uses an uint and we have overflowed.
  • When you zoom in our out, your cursor remains in the center. However, if when zooming it crosses a white square it erases that.
  • What is the EEPROM used for? You don’t seem to be saving the image for later …
1 Like

Great! maybe outputting the image via serial could be a feature

1 Like

Another suggestion - scrolling left / right and up / down.

1 Like

It ebs and flows.
Naturally it’s probably going to be more active towards the weekend.

EEPROM:

Firstly, @filmote’s right about the EEPROM, I’m not sure what you’re trying to do with it, but it looks like you’re trying to use it as scratch space rather than for saving, which is a bad idea because it’ll burn the EEPROM out quicker.

EEPROM has a limited number of times you can write to it, which is quite a lot to be fair, but it’ll still wear out quicker if you’re not careful about how often you read and write to it.
Also update is preferred over write because it will avoid writing if the data at the location is already the same value.

And of course, I have no idea why you’re putting two related variables 512 bytes apart from each other.